Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World are a set of structures built in antiquity that were considered particularly remarkable. Such lists were originally compiled in the Hellenistic period. The canonical list of seven “Wonders” dates from the Renaissance. The list consists of the Great Pyramid at Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria.